The official "I just got my unit and..." thread | General GC | Forums

Avatar
Please consider registering
guest
Advanced Search
Forum Scope


Match



Forum Options



Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
sp_TopicIcon
The official "I just got my unit and..." thread
May 26, 2010
2:57 am
Avatar
phild31
Nashua, New Hampshire USA
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1479
Member Since:
April 6, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
285sp_Permalink sp_Print

No, it doesn't seem to refresh quicker but get a direction & distance from the compass screen and start looking for the cache instead of the screen.
As you wander around a little the compass will keep pointing to the same general area.

Think 5 to 10 meter circle and search.
That's more than half the fun of finding a cache, figuring out exactly where & how the placer hid it.
With practice it will get easier to both use the GPSr and spot where a cache is hidden.

Good luck

When in trouble or in doubt, run in circles, scream and shout

May 25, 2010
9:37 pm
Avatar
Smada
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 8
Member Since:
May 13, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
283sp_Permalink sp_Print

phild31 wrote:

I got my unit last friday. There's one thing that I think they should improve on which is the map refresh. While looking for a cache, the map would point me in one direction and then all of a suddent point me 12 meters back. So it was a little hard to get the general area where to start looking for it. Anyone else experience this?

I think you would be better off using the compass screen when you get close (20 to 30 meters) instead of the map screen.
The arrow on the compass screen will point to the target, start thinking about where & how it may be hidden and slow down.
Remember that even when the accuracy says 5 meters that's still a 10 meter diameter circle to search.

At least that's what I have always done while geocaching.

Good luck and have fun.

Thanks, I'll give that a try. Does the compas have a quicker refresh rate?

May 24, 2010
12:08 am
Avatar
phild31
Nashua, New Hampshire USA
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1479
Member Since:
April 6, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
274sp_Permalink sp_Print

I got my unit last friday. There's one thing that I think they should improve on which is the map refresh. While looking for a cache, the map would point me in one direction and then all of a suddent point me 12 meters back. So it was a little hard to get the general area where to start looking for it. Anyone else experience this?

I think you would be better off using the compass screen when you get close (20 to 30 meters) instead of the map screen.
The arrow on the compass screen will point to the target, start thinking about where & how it may be hidden and slow down.
Remember that even when the accuracy says 5 meters that's still a 10 meter diameter circle to search.

At least that's what I have always done while geocaching.

Good luck and have fun.

When in trouble or in doubt, run in circles, scream and shout

May 23, 2010
10:34 pm
Avatar
Smada
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 8
Member Since:
May 13, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
273sp_Permalink sp_Print

I got my unit last friday. There's one thing that I think they should improve on which is the map refresh. While looking for a cache, the map would point me in one direction and then all of a suddent point me 12 meters back. So it was a little hard to get the general area where to start looking for it. Anyone else experience this?

May 22, 2010
10:35 pm
Avatar
Decer
New Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
May 22, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
268sp_Permalink sp_Print

Just got mine in yesterday (new to the forums, and to geocaching in general) Took it out for a spin today, so far I'm liking it (couldn't be any worse than what i was using.. my cell phone! lol)

May 15, 2010
7:05 am
Avatar
EddieB606
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 17
Member Since:
May 14, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
239sp_Permalink sp_Print

Think you're upset, I saw the $156 price, but didn't order until last Monday when it's back to $199! Didn't know that wasn't the regular price. :ohmy:

May 7, 2010
4:58 am
Avatar
USMCGecko
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 22
Member Since:
May 5, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
188sp_Permalink sp_Print

Just ordered my GC today, I got a little upset, I saw amazon.com dropped it down to $156.00, so I put it in my shopping cart. I didn't purchase it and decided that I would sleep on it and give it a nights sleep before I made my final choice.

This morning I got up and said, "Ok, time to order" I went to Amazon.com and saw they jumped the price up to $177.00, still cheaper than other places but sad I missed out on saving the extra money.

I should have mine in 5-9 days, I went with the free shipping. I can't wait to get it and play with it.

April 30, 2010
4:17 am
Avatar
MadMikeSS
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 20
Member Since:
April 28, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
133sp_Permalink sp_Print

So I got out today with the GC for my first ever geocaching outing with a friend and neighbor from down the street. I really like the paperless aspect of the GC and the gps works well, although was pretty well off one of the caches, but that's not unusual based on what everyone says anyway. 🙂 We went 3/4 for caches and the one that we didn't find is because this particular cache is a difficult one with 2 decoys, we found one of the decoys, but couldn't find the real one. One thing, and it's probably just my newness with this gps and not knowing the easiest ways of doing things yet, but we did a multicache and I found it difficult to continue with the cache and transition to a waypoint I had to create from the clues. I have to read the manual again and see if there is an easy way to add a waypoint to the current cache instead of cancelling the track for the cache and create the waypoint to start a new track to the waypoint. A little more research, I'm sure it's easier than I'm making it. Anyway, when I was done and got home I hooked up the gps to the computer and vantage point immediately recognized that I had logged 2 finds and asked if I wanted to upload them, which I did right through VP. I love the way that VP pulls PQs from gc.com as well. I'm still very impressed with this gps and I can't wait to get out and do some more caching.

April 28, 2010
9:58 pm
Avatar
Miniwhip
Guest
Guests
130sp_Permalink sp_Print

MadMikeSS wrote:

Got mine today, played with it a little, loaded some caches, customized it. I think I'm ready to go hunting.

Brilliant!! (your profile pic)

April 28, 2010
8:30 pm
Avatar
MadMikeSS
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 20
Member Since:
April 28, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
128sp_Permalink sp_Print

Got mine today, played with it a little, loaded some caches, customized it. I think I'm ready to go hunting.

April 21, 2010
6:36 am
Avatar
phild31
Nashua, New Hampshire USA
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1479
Member Since:
April 6, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
109sp_Permalink sp_Print

I really wish the font was larger, my old eyes can barely see the text with any background.
I tried dark, light and different colors with no big improvement.
With a larger screen this unit would be 5 stars, I'll give it 4.5 as is though.

When in trouble or in doubt, run in circles, scream and shout

April 21, 2010
6:27 am
Avatar
Miniwhip
Guest
Guests
108sp_Permalink sp_Print

Oh, and you're welcome of course. I'm in the process of experimenting with backgrounds. I might make some and upload them to here for others to download.

April 21, 2010
6:23 am
Avatar
Miniwhip
Guest
Guests
107sp_Permalink sp_Print

Lookin' good! How is reading text with that background?

April 21, 2010
6:20 am
Avatar
phild31
Nashua, New Hampshire USA
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1479
Member Since:
April 6, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
106sp_Permalink sp_Print

Who needs sleep with a new toy to play with?

WOO - HOO ! That works much better!

Updated GSAK and GPX file version.

Thanks kareve and Miniwhip.

When in trouble or in doubt, run in circles, scream and shout

April 21, 2010
4:54 am
Avatar
phild31
Nashua, New Hampshire USA
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1479
Member Since:
April 6, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
105sp_Permalink sp_Print

As my hero, Homer would say, D'oh! :pinch:

I knew about the GSAK update but forgot to get it. :blush:
Oh well, I'll fix that and check the gpx version and play some more after work tomorrow.

Thanks for the heads up, I usually need a swift kick to get the old brain working. 😛

At least I got the background image right.

When in trouble or in doubt, run in circles, scream and shout

April 21, 2010
3:18 am
Avatar
Miniwhip
Guest
Guests
103sp_Permalink sp_Print

phild31 wrote:

No attributes at all, no mater how I load it.

Do you have the right version GPX file? Check this out

April 21, 2010
2:10 am
Avatar
kareve
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
March 17, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
101sp_Permalink sp_Print

phild31, did you take a look at the GSAK forum HERE it would seem to me that your GSAK version is out of date.

Frank

April 21, 2010
12:24 am
Avatar
phild31
Nashua, New Hampshire USA
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 1479
Member Since:
April 6, 2010
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
100sp_Permalink sp_Print

I got mine yesterday! After 2 hours playing with it here's what I've found.
I get pictures loaded only when I load PQs through VP.
Loading PQs through VP gives me waypoints, pics, descriptions & hints.
Loading PQs straight to the unit I get no pics but everything else.
Loading GSAK file I only got 9 caches out of 478, no waypoints or pics. I think I have to play with GSAK to export the right file?
No attributes at all, no mater how I load it.

The font is too small and should be bold, it's very hard for me to read.
The compass has the sun at due north and the moon nw all the time, no change after 4 hours.

So far the unit is pretty good, as fast and accurate as my T2000.
The font & compass should be an easy fix.
The good news is PQs loaded through VP is pretty fast, 478 caches in just a few (15) seconds.

I'll post more info and pictures tomorrow as I figure out more about the unit.

When in trouble or in doubt, run in circles, scream and shout

April 20, 2010
11:59 pm
Avatar
Morel
Guest
Guests

Sweet! Will be interesting to see what mounting options there will be for that T-slot on the back. Hmmm...swivel belt cip

April 20, 2010
11:26 pm
Avatar
Miniwhip
Guest
Guests

Just got mine! Review soon!

Forum Timezone: America/New_York
Most Users Ever Online: 99
Currently Online:
Guest(s) 5
Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)
Top Posters:
phild31: 1479
David: 646
denisetdoris: 400
pprass: 264
S!G: 251
ShortcutHicksy: 250
jmebd: 184
Sockeye: 170
Caotix: 143
Paganel: 116
Member Stats:
Guest Posters: 5
Members: 805
Moderators: 0
Admins: 3
Forum Stats:
Groups: 15
Forums: 42
Topics: 921
Posts: 7306
Newest Members:
savannahtindale, Wat, KHB3, ethanwetherspoon, EmilyAnges, cletachristie0, Robert Temple, OSS-SAS
Administrators: jg_the_Prophet: 29, mike_the_Enforcer: 0, OSS-SAS: 1

Leave a Reply