Experiencing several issues with my 610 unit. | Bug Reporting | Forums

Please consider registering

sp_LogInOut Log In sp_Registration Register

Register | Lost password?
Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —

— Match —

— Forum Options —

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

sp_Feed Topic RSS sp_TopicIcon
Experiencing several issues with my 610 unit.
January 13, 2012
5:41 am
phild31
Nashua, New Hampshire USA
Members
Forum Posts: 1564
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

No, the number of caches should not slow down it booting up, I routinely have over 8,000 caches with photos loaded.

As far as fumbling with the cable and mount, if you are using the Magellan mount throw it away and get a RAM mount!

Go here to see my report on the - RAM mount.
I even have a video of putting my 710 into & out of the mount.

My report is near the bottom of page three of that thread.

I've been using the Ram mount for 9 months now, except for the rollers rattling a bit (an easy thing to fix) I'm very happy with it.

When in trouble or in doubt, run in circles, scream and shout
January 12, 2012
11:39 pm
pprass
Members
Forum Posts: 280

phild31 wrote:

....Perhaps if the maps are on internal memory instead of the SD card it's slowing it down?

No - all maps are on the SD card as came with the unit. And I regularly clear the active tracks. What I do have though is over 5,000 caches with photos, loaded at any one time. However the unit should be able to take twice that amount of data and still operate efficiently. So I hope no-one tells me that I have too much data loaded, otherwise what's the point of having a unit that can hold so much data. That is one of the reasons that I went for the 610 instead of the Oregon.